Oh, she’s SO cute!

Amelia is signing “Dad” all the time now. It is SO cute! She says, “Dah” and signs Dad!!! She just melts my heart.
Seth melts my heart too. But, he really makes me laugh so hard. Today at church, I walked by the nursery and overheard the teachers asking the kids who wanted to say the prayer for the snacks. I hear my little man say, “I will!”. So, of course, I have to listen. here is what I heard: “Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for blessings, name of Jesus Christ, Amen.” He is so cute! He will just break into song and/or dance all the time too, he is so funny!!! I really do love being a Mom.

So, I never thought I’d want to stay in Utah. Really, I didn’t. When we moved here, I said that there is no way I would want to raise my family here. I don’t like being a Mormon in Utah. It is a completely different culture here and it is hard. There are many (note I am not saying all, just many) people who are “Utah Mormons”. They are a different breed. They are the people who ask when they meet someone for the first time, “Oh! Are you LDS? What’s your calling?” (for those who don’t know, ours is a lay ministry, so everyone helps out. What you do to help is called your calling in our church). Anyhoo, it drives me nuts. When we moved here when I was in high school, I hated it. There were people who were mean because I wasn’t from Utah (I know, I know, that happens anywhere you move in high school). But, I also found that so many people took the church for granted here. There are Temples everywhere around here, and people don’t go. The kids had seminary (bible classes for kids age 14-18) DURING SCHOOL! Now, for those who are not from Utah, have to go to early morning seminary. Mine was at 5:30, Jeremy’s was at 6:00…in the morning! So, when kids wouldn’t go, it made me so mad!
Then, there is the weather. I hate the inversion. Every year, we get the nasty weather that lasts for months on end. I hate it.
However, my family and friends are here. Not to mention, Emma. As we get ready to move, I am realizing how much I am going to miss Stephanie, Chip and their kids, my sister Cristin and her family, my brother Rob and his family and so many of my dear friends I’ve made here. Who will I play with when we move? I know, I’ll make new friends, but I won’t have Nicole, Lori, Lindsey…I won’t have my fabulous neighbors that I have now (hi Tiffany!)…it really is sad. I am trying not to think about it too much, but it’s hard. This is going to be a really big transition for all of us. I think it will be hardest on me though. *sigh*

5 Responses to “Oh, she’s SO cute!”

  1. Shabby Miss Jenn Says:

    OMG I’m sooo excited for you and your big move! You will love it and even though it’s totally hard leaving behind friends and family, you will totally make new ones. And FAST! You just bring people to you with your amazing personality Kimmy! No worries there! I worried about that too before we moved, but once we did, it was smooth sailling meeting some awesome new buddies that are now like family! Just reach out and go up to people and talk to them. You will have tons of new friends in no time! 🙂 LOVE yA!

  2. Krista Says:

    Moving somewhere completely new is SO hard, and often hardest for stay at home moms. Believe me, I know. Things do feel settled eventually and friends will come. Feel free to e-mail if you’re feeling lonely and homesick. Been there, done that. (((hugs)))

  3. Lori Says:

    So, Indiana it is?

  4. Nicole Says:

    You are awesome. You will find new friends so fast your head will spin! Seriously! Just tyr not to think of poor me left here in utah without my Kim! 😦 LOL Yeah had to squeeze in just a little guilt there! Love you, and thank goodness for email, blogs, and cell phones (they do have t-mobile in indiana right???)

  5. brightonwoman Says:

    I’m excited about the signing! Little Bear is two months this week, and I know I need to get on the ball with him in that regard!

    jenni

Leave a Reply

